Below are the differences of having Partial Posting of Grades disabled or enabled.
Disabled Partial Posting of Grades
Without Partial Posting of Grades, you would simply post grades from SIS and submit them. You can not return to edit this section– If you leave a grade blank, then the grade is posted blank.
You will receive a message that reminds you that you can not return and add grades later after posting grades.
Enabled Partial Posting of Grades
With Partial Posting, you would post grades from SIS and submit them. You can return to edit, input, and post grades that were blank. You can not, however, change grades once there were posted.
You will receive a message that reminds you that you have blank grades and will be able to come back and add these grades after posting.